]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
coccinelle.txt: update documentation to include M= option
authorGreg Dietsche <Gregory.Dietsche@cuw.edu>
Sun, 6 Nov 2011 01:59:44 +0000 (20:59 -0500)
committerMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Sat, 14 Jan 2012 21:25:56 +0000 (22:25 +0100)
Adding documentation for the new M= option which limits Coccinelle
to a specific set of directories.

Signed-off-by: Greg Dietsche <Gregory.Dietsche@cuw.edu>
Acked-by: Julia Lawall <julia.lawall@lip6.fr>
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Documentation/coccinelle.txt

index 96b690348ba14290f10235b94d6e13e4cc2d329d..cf44eb6499b418c3fd28339b52d53b3467cbfe23 100644 (file)
@@ -102,9 +102,15 @@ or
        make coccicheck COCCI=<my_SP.cocci> MODE=report
 
 
        make coccicheck COCCI=<my_SP.cocci> MODE=report
 
 
- Using Coccinelle on (modified) files
-~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ Controlling Which Files are Processed by Coccinelle
+~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+By default the entire kernel source tree is checked.
+
+To apply Coccinelle to a specific directory, M= can be used.
+For example, to check drivers/net/wireless/ one may write:
 
 
+    make coccicheck M=drivers/net/wireless/
+    
 To apply Coccinelle on a file basis, instead of a directory basis, the
 following command may be used:
 
 To apply Coccinelle on a file basis, instead of a directory basis, the
 following command may be used: