]> git.openfabrics.org - ~shefty/rdma-dev.git/commitdiff
perf, x86: Implement user-space RDPMC support, to allow fast, user-space access to...
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Sun, 20 Nov 2011 19:44:06 +0000 (20:44 +0100)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Wed, 21 Dec 2011 10:01:10 +0000 (11:01 +0100)
Implement a correct pmu::event_idx for the x86 counter index rules and
set CR4.PCE on CPU_STARTING.

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-mwxab34dibqgzk5zywutfnha@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event.c

index 5adce1040b118c597daf067e675896eb2100f808..53b5699101756da9c35ff7608d8b635b965a586f 100644 (file)
@@ -1210,6 +1210,7 @@ x86_pmu_notifier(struct notifier_block *self, unsigned long action, void *hcpu)
                break;
 
        case CPU_STARTING:
+               set_in_cr4(X86_CR4_PCE);
                if (x86_pmu.cpu_starting)
                        x86_pmu.cpu_starting(cpu);
                break;
@@ -1542,6 +1543,18 @@ static int x86_pmu_event_init(struct perf_event *event)
        return err;
 }
 
+static int x86_pmu_event_idx(struct perf_event *event)
+{
+       int idx = event->hw.idx;
+
+       if (x86_pmu.num_counters_fixed && idx >= X86_PMC_IDX_FIXED) {
+               idx -= X86_PMC_IDX_FIXED;
+               idx |= 1 << 30;
+       }
+
+       return idx + 1;
+}
+
 static struct pmu pmu = {
        .pmu_enable     = x86_pmu_enable,
        .pmu_disable    = x86_pmu_disable,
@@ -1557,6 +1570,8 @@ static struct pmu pmu = {
        .start_txn      = x86_pmu_start_txn,
        .cancel_txn     = x86_pmu_cancel_txn,
        .commit_txn     = x86_pmu_commit_txn,
+
+       .event_idx      = x86_pmu_event_idx,
 };
 
 /*